2024 CMT Music Awards: Everything to Know About the Live Ceremony

The CMT Music Awards air on Sunday, April 7. The star-studded show will feature plenty of performances and collaborations, plus returning stars and newcomers all vying for the coveted, fan-voted trophies. Keep reading for everything to know about this year’s CMT Music Awards ceremony.

When It Will Air:

The CMT Music Awards will air live from the Moody Center in Austin, Texas on Sunday, April 7, from 8:00 – 11:00 PM ET.

How to Watch:

The CMT Music Awards will air live on CBS. The show will also be available to stream live on Paramount+.

Who is Hosting:

Kelsea Ballerini will host the show for the fourth year in a row, but the first year by herself. Ballerini hosted the show for the last three years with Kane Brown, but will take over the duties solo for the first time this year.

“It’s definitely new grounds for me,” Ballerini told People. “But it’s my fourth year hosting, so I feel like I’ve learned a lot. And the good thing about CMTs is there’s such a light energy, so there’s not a pressure that I feel to be perfect. I just want to be fun, honor the night and help people have a good time.”

Who is Nominated:

Cody JohnsonLainey WilsonJelly Roll, Ballerini and Megan Moroney were among the top nominees, with three nods each. Johnson, Wilson, Jelly Roll and Ballerini are still in the running for Video of the Year.

Surprisingly, there were 14 first-time nominees for this year’s CMT Music Awards. The first-time nominees include Amber Riley, Ashley Cooke, Bret Michaels, Chayce Beckham, Hozier, Koe Wetzel, Stephen Wilson Jr., Tyler Childers, Warren Zeiders and Zach Bryan.

Anne Wilson, Ella Langley, The Castellows and Tigirlily Gold (who are nominated for two CMT Music Awards), all part of this year’s Next Women of Country class, are also nominated for the first time.

See the complete list of nominees here.

Who is Performing:

There is an impressive list of performers for this year’s CMT Music Awards.

Sugarland will reunite to perform for the first time on the CMT Music Awards stage since 2011, joining Little Big Town for a world premiere collaboration.

Trisha Yearwood will also premiere “Put It In A Song,” a song she wrote from her forthcoming new album, and one that will, for the first time, include songs that Yearwood wrote.

“I didn’t start doing this to release anything,” Yearwood told Everything Nash. “I just kind of had a big epiphany. I’ve written some over the years, but very little, and I was very self-conscious. I kind of had a big aha moment. And I just started writing. I did it for me. I wasn’t doing this to show anybody.”

Yearwood will also receive the inaugural June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award, honoring her numerous philanthropic endeavors.

Johnson will give a world-premiere performance of “That’s Texas,” while Old Dominion and Moroney will perform their hit single, “Can’t Break Up Now.” Parker McCollum and Brittney Spencer will put a new spin on his hit, “Burn It Down.”

Wilson will sing “Country’s Cool Again,” Ballerini will perform a new version of her debut single, “Love Me Like You Mean It,” and Jason Aldean will sing his single, “Let Your Boys Be Country.”

Other performers include Keith Urban, Jelly Roll, ZimmermanSam Hunt, Dasha and NEEDTOBREATHE with Jordan Davis.

Who is Being Honored:

Toby Keith will be honored with a tribute by Wilson, Brooks & Dunn and Keith’s good friend, Sammy Hagar, who will perform together, backed by Keith’s own band. Lukas Nelson and Rogers Clemens will also make an appearance as well.

Who is Presenting:

Country music stars, actors and TV hosts are among those presenting trophies this year. Carly Pearce, Moroney, Mickey Guyton, Jelly Roll, Johnson and Parmalee will present trophies to their colleagues.

They will be joined by singers Amber Riley and Melissa Etheridge, SiriusXM and CMT host Cody Alan, talk show host Gayle King, plus numerous actors and celebrities, including Billy Bob Thornton, Emily Osment, Emma Roberts, James Van Der Beek, Janey Seymour, J Max Theriot, Minnie Driver, Montana Jordan and Paul Walter Hauser.