Dan + Shay Tease Uptempo New Song From ‘Bigger Houses’ Album

Dan + Shay have enjoyed a decade of hits in country music, with songs like “Tequila,” “Speechless,” “10,000 Hours” and more. But in a new video posted on social media, both Dan Smyers and Shay Mooney hint they have something unexpected coming out this week, from their Bigger Houses album that drops on September 15.

“You’re gonna go out, and you’re gonna do your first dance,” someone tells the pair. “We need you to do your song and be out of there, ’cause then we have the DJ coming. We need to get people up and dancing. I’m sorry, but you’re just not that band, right?”

After she leaves, Mooney tells Smyers, “Everybody thinks we’re just the ballad guys, first dance guys. It’s so frustrating.”

“We don’t need a DJ to get the people out on the dance floor. We’ve got songs for that,” adds Smyers.

“I think we should just go rogue, and play the song,” Mooney replies, before Dan + Shay share a brief clip of the wedding scene in Las Vegas, with them singing “We should get married” in the background.

When announcing Bigger Houses, their fifth studio album, Dan + Shay hinted that their new set of tunes would have more uptempo songs to get people moving, and feeling good.

“Some of our records have been more pop- or hip-hop/R&B-infused, but on this record, I wanted to make tracks that we could hop up at any bar anywhere with our live band and play the songs as they were recorded,” Smyers said. “Ultimately, this music, this whole album is something that I’ll be able to look back on in a decade or two and be really proud of the way it turned out.”

“Save Me The Trouble,” Dan + Shay’s debut single from Bigger Houses, is a good indication of what fans can expect from the rest of the record.

“This is something new, this is something fresh,” Mooney told Audacy. “Obviously we wanted this new project to be something we knew our fans would love. We’ve been doing this for ten years now, and I feel like we’ve got a really great relationship with our fans, and we know what they like, and what some people don’t like. I feel like this song is everything that our fans love, but also pushes the boundaries a little bit.”

It makes sense that Dan + Shay are ready to launch a new musical chapter. Both Smyers and Mooney recently opened up about their four-month separation last year, which ultimately left them even more resolved to make music they, and their fans, love.

“This is a brand-new breath of fresh air,” Mooney said on the Today Show. “Dan and I have been through a lot the last ten years, and I feel like this is a new chapter for us, and I’ve never been more excited to put out music. There are songs that mean so much to us.”

Dan + Shay’s new song will drop on Thursday, August 24, at 11:00 PM CT. See a track list for Bigger Houses below, and pre-order the record here.

Bigger Houses Track List:

1. Breakin’ Up With a Broken Heart – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Zach Crowell, Ashley Gorley
2. Save Me The Trouble – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Ashley Gorley, Jordan Minton, Jordan Reynolds
3. Heartbreak On The Map – Dan Smyers, Jimmy Robbins, Ernest Keith Smith
4. Always Gonna Be – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Ashley Gorley, Jordan Minton, Jordan Reynolds
5. For The Both of Us – Dan Smyers, Andy Albert, Jordan Reynolds
6. Then Again – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Lori McKenna, Jordan Reynolds
7. Heaven + Back – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Matt Dragstrem, Josh Thompson
8. What Took You So Long – Dan Smyers, Jordan Minton, Jordan Reynolds, Jimmy Robbins
9. Missing Someone – Trannie Anderson, Adam Doleac, Dylan Guthro, Gordie Sampson
10. We Should Get Married – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert
11. Neon Cowgirl – Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Zach Crowell, Jessie Jo Dillon, Ashley Gorley
12. Bigger Houses – Dan Smyers, Andy Albert, Jordan Minton, Jordan Reynolds