Dennis Quaid Celebrates Overcoming Addiction and Finding Faith in New Gospel Album

Dennis Quaid‘s Fallen: A Gospel Record For Sinners is out now. The 12-track record includes both original songs and hymns, plus a cover of Kris Kristofferson‘s “Why Me Lord.” There was a time when Quaid, deep in the throes of addiction, could have never imagined that he would have an album full of spiritual songs, and he admits it might have never happened if he had not been able to conquer the addiction that once threatened to derail his life and career.

“When you’re done with the addiction, you need something to fill that hole, something that really works, right?” Quaid reflects to People.

Fortunately for Quaid, he not only conquered his addiction, but he found solace in the faith he relied on as a child, faith he returned to when he no longer relied on drugs and alcohol.

“I grew up at the Baptist church; I love the hymns that I remember from being a kid,” Quaid shares. “The songs are self-reflective and self-examining, not churchy. All of us have a relationship with God, whether you’re a Christian or not.”

Not that it’s easy for him. The actor and singer admits addiction will likely always be a challenge for him. At least now he has the tools to fight what once seemed impossible for him to overcome.

“It’s a struggle,” the 69-year-old concedes. “We’re all looking for the joy of life, and drugs give that to you and alcohol and whatever it is for anybody give that to you really quick. Then they’re fun and then they’re fun with problems, and then they’re just problems after a while. That’s really what we’re looking for, the joy of life, which is our gift, actually, the relationship with God that we all have. It’s at the bottom of it, the joy of being alive.”

Fallen: A Gospel Record For Sinners features The Oak Ridge Boys on “Life’s Railway to Heaven,” while The Isaacs and Jackson Brumley join Quaid on “I’ll Fly Away,” written by Brumley’s father, Albert E. Brumley. The entire project is a celebration of Quaid’s ability to move past what once threatened to destroy everything he worked towards, and find joy in where he is now.

“I’m grateful to still be here, I’m grateful to be alive really every day,”  Quaid says. “It’s important to really enjoy your ride in life as much as you can, because there’s a lot of challenges and stuff to knock it down.”

Quaid will perform songs from Fallen: A Gospel Record for Sinners at the Grand Ole Opry on Thursday, August 3. Those tickets are available at See a track list for the record below, and purchase an autographed copy of Fallen: A Gospel Record For Sinners here.

Fallen: A Gospel Record For Sinners Track List:

1. Fallen (Dennis Quaid)
2. Please Don’t Give Up on Me (Dennis Quaid)
3. Why Me (Kris Kristofferson)
4. God Gets Lonely Too (Dennis Quaid)
5. Just as I Am (Charlotte Elliott and William B. Bradbury)
6. Amazing Grace (John Newton; American Melody)
7. Life’s Railway to Heaven (M.E. Abbey and Charles D. Tilan)
8. On My Way to Heaven (Dennis Quaid)
9. What A Friend We Have in Jesus (Charles C. Converse and Joseph M. Scriven)
10. The Lord’s Prayer
11. Welcome Home (Dennis Quaid)
12. I’ll Fly Away (Albert E. Brumley)

Photo Credit: Courtesy of Adkins Publicity / Derrek Kupish