Jake Owen To Fire Off New ‘Loose Cannon’ Album In June

A new album is coming from Jake Owen. The Florida native announces his 16-track Loose Cannon album, out on June 23. The record includes songs written by Walker Hayes, Jordan Davis, Ashley Gorley and more.

The new album comes four years after his last project, Greetings from…Jake, was released.

“I can’t wait to share this new wave of music with my fans,” Owen says. “This album is a long time coming and feels like the best version of me. Grab your buddies, put the boat in the water, pour a cold one out, and we’ll catch y’all out on the lake. It’s the best time of year and we’re ready to celebrate.”

Owen also shared the title track on social media, ahead of the album’s release.

The gap between albums wasn’t intentional for Owen, but rather was born from his desire to get everything just right, even if it took a while.

“In my mind, to be an album, it needs to sound very cohesive,” Owen explained to American Songwriter. “Otherwise, it sounds like a mixtape. But I think now when I go back and listen to it as a whole, I’ve chiseled it down and it’s taken me time to do that.”

Like his previous six records, the 41-year-old says Loose Cannon will also include the feel-good tracks that have made him famous, like “Barefoot Blue Jean Night,” “Days of Gold,” “Down to the Honkytonk” and more. The positivity is important to Owen, even if it doesn’t always mirror his own life.

“I have had a lot of darkness in my life too, but I just don’t dwell in it,” Owen acknowledges. “I find happiness in the brighter side of life. I’ve never enjoyed making dark music, but I do find when I listen to songs that I record that have a darker undertone or an honesty to the dark side of my life, they really resonate.”

Loose Cannon includes “On the Boat Again,” a take on Willie Nelson‘s “On the Road Again.” But there are also more serious, personal songs that Owen is eager to share as well.

“I think with this new record, I have songs on there that are super believable from a standpoint that I’ve definitely lived them,” Owen says. “But then there’s a song or two that I’m delivering from a messenger of a character. It’s funny, I’m either writing something that’s very serious and honest or it’s very fun and completely careless. If you don’t take yourself so seriously, you can have a lot more fun.”

Owen is a different person than he was when creating Greetings from…Jake, or any of his other previous projects. Last summer, the father of two announced he had been sober for almost a year, after one too many nights of heavy imbibing.

317 days ago I embarrassed myself after drinking too much alcohol one night. It wasn’t the first time either.

The next…

Posted by Jake Owen on Friday, July 29, 2022


“317 days ago I embarrassed myself after drinking too much alcohol one night. It wasn’t the first time either,” Owen said at the time. “The next day I told myself, ‘never again.’ I am better than that, and the people I love the most deserve better. My family, my little girls, and my friends.

“Just wanted to share my journey in case anyone woke up this morning and wants to make a change,” he continued. “None of us [are] perfect… I’m just trying to be the best version of myself these days.”

Owen later expounded on his decision to quit drinking, saying that it wasn’t because he believed he was an alcoholic, but rather just felt the need to make better choices for himself.

“I never had a drinking problem or anything,” Owen told Audacy’s The Wake Up Call, adding that he did it to be a better version of himself for his family and friends. “So I just did. I just stopped. I’m proud I did. What I realized in these moments was that it’s not easy for a lot of people. For me, it wasn’t hard. It was just something I decided to put down. For people who struggled and have reached out asking how I did it? It’s amazing to be able to connect with people like that.”

See a track list for Loose Cannon below. Find all of Owen’s music and upcoming shows at JakeOwen.net.

Loose Cannon Track List:
1. “Hot Truck Beer” (Jordan Fletcher, Jim McCormick, Austin Nivarel)
2. “Go Getter” (Brent Cobb, Jake Mitchell, Aaron Ratiere)
3. “Solo Solo” (Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Blake Pendergrass, Hunter Phelps)
4. “On The Boat Again” (Willie Nelson, Devin Dawson, Kyle Fishman, Rocky Block, Blake Pendergrass)
5. “Hearts and Habits” (Thomas Archer, Jamie Moore, Jared Mullins, Ben Stennis)
6. “When It All Shakes Out” (Jacob Davis, Jordan Dozzi, Josh Jenkins)
7. “Hope Less” (Jared Mullins, Ben Stennis)
8. “It Don’t, He Won’t and You Do” (Jordan Dozzi, Justin Ebach, Chase McGill)
9. “Friends Don’t Let Friends” (Jessie Jo Dillon, Hunter Phelps, Ben Stennis)
10. “Boy In The Chevrolet” (Ashley Gorley, Taylor Phillips, Bobby Pinson)
11. “Shrank” (Lalo Guzman, Walker Hayes, Hunter Phelps)
12. “Nothing” (Dallas Davidson, Kyle Fishman, Earle Hagen, Reid Haughton, Herbert Spencer, Cole Taylor)
13. “Somewhere South With Rum” (Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins)
14. “The Ending” (Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Chris Tompkins)
15. “Hey Can I Buy You A Beer” (John Byron, Rocky Block, Travis Wood)
16. “Loose Cannon” (Matt Roy)

Read ’12 Country Music Singers Who Are Sober’ here.