Randy Travis to Celebrate 35th Anniversary of Debut ‘Storms of Life’ Album With New Release

35 years ago, on June 2, 1986, Randy Travis released his debut Storms of Life album, unknowingly launching his career as one of country music’s biggest superstars in the process. In honor of the album’s milestone anniversary, Travis just announced he is releasing a remastered version of Storms of Life (35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), along with three unreleased songs that were recorded by Travis early in his career, but never released.

“I love the timeless lyrics and the traditional country instruments, like steel guitar, banjo, piano, fiddle,” Travis says of the project. “iI was music I believed in, that told a story I wanted to share. We were fortunate to have a large catalog of songs to choose from that were more traditional. At the time, people and radio really weren’t playing this kind of music. Most people were recording more of an urban cowboy sound, so I got to choose from the best of the best, cream of the crop. It was exciting for all of us to get back to our roots.”

Travis previously released “Fool’s Love Affair,” one of numerous songs that were found when songwriter Charlie Monk was cleaning out his office, and uncovered tracks that Travis had recorded, but never released, early in his career.

“There are songs that Kyle [Lehning] has found that just wonderful songs,” Mary said. “I don’t think that most of them have ever been heard.”

Travis suffered a stroke in 2013, which took — at least for now — his ability to sing. But at least one person, Travis’ wife Mary, believes the Country Music Hall of Fame member isn’t done with his career in country music, at least not yet.

“I never give up hope on that,” Mary told the Charlotte Observer. “Every day, there’s a new word, there’s a new response that lets us know that that brain is still rewiring. And every stroke is different. I mean, there’s so many brain cells and synapses and all those things that of course we don’t understand. Only God knows those things. We don’t know if one day it will all of a sudden come back — and it may, I’ve heard of that — or if it’s just little by little and his confidence comes back. I don’t know.

“Like I said, every one of them is different, and every one of them affects the person differently,” she added. “So we just keep hoping and praying, keep working at it. If it doesn’t come back all the way, then we’re OK with that, too. We’re content with where we are if this is it. And if it does, then glory be — it’ll be wonderful.”

See the track list for Storms of Life (35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) below. The record will be released on September 24, with pre-orders available beginning on August 27. Find more information at RandyTravis.com.

Storms of Life (35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) Track Listing:

1. “On The Other Hand” (Paul Overstreet, Don Schlitz)
2. “The Storms of Life” (Max D. Barnes, Troy Seals)
3. “My Heart Cracked (But It Did Not Break)” (Ronny Scaife, Don Singleton, Phil Thomas)
4. “Diggin’ Up Bones” (Al Gore, Paul Overstreet, Nat Stuckey)
5. “No Place Like Home” (Paul Overstreet)
6. “1982” (Buddy Blackmon, Vip Vipperman)
7. “Send My Body” (Randy Travis)
8. “Messin’ With My Mind” (Joseph Allen, Charlie Williams)
9. “Reasons I Cheat” (Randy Travis)
10. “There’ll Always Be A Honky Tonk Somewhere” (Steve Clark, Johnny MacRae)
– Unreleased Tracks –
“Ain’t No Use”
“Carryin’ Fire

Read 11 Things to Know About Randy Travis here.