Dolly Parton Opens Up About Dealing With Anger: ‘I’m Just a Regular Person’

Dolly Parton has had far more success than most, but that doesn’t mean she hasn’t had to fight for what she wants. While she may appear sweet and affable in public — a persona that very much also describes her in private as well — the 77-year-old admits she does get angry sometimes, but only when it’s justified.

“I’m just a regular person,” Parton maintains onTalkShopLive (via People). “I’m not one where I’m one person out here and another [in private]. I’m a businessperson. Sometimes you’ve just kind of gotta pitch a fit to get it done or get it done right … I think anybody’s like that. You can’t just go through life just floating around getting anything done.”

When Parton does get angry, which is rare, it’s if someone is interfering with her work or her family. But even then, she makes sure her anger is productive.

“I don’t lose my temper, but I use my temper,” says the singer. “Of course, I’ve lost it a few times but it’s not that I’m losing my temper, I’m trying to use it because sometimes there are just some people you have to speak up to. Because if they don’t know, especially as a shock, for somebody like me to raise my voice to people, that’s not what they’re used to.”

Parton acknowledges that it takes a lot to get her riled up, but if she happens to raise her voice, whoever is on the receiving end of her anger better watch out.

“Sometimes it is for an effect because some people just won’t listen otherwise,” she says. “But you gotta push me pretty far to get me stirred up — but then I become my daddy.”

Parton just released “Let It Be,” from her forthcoming Rockstar album, featuring the song’s writer, Paul McCartney, on the track, along with Ringo Starr, Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood. The Grand Ole Opry member previously released “World on Fire,” “Bygones,” featuring Rob Halford, with special guests Nikki Sixx and John 5, a cover of “Magic Man (Carl Version), featuring Heart’s Ann Wilson, and “We Are the Champions/We Will Rock You,” all ahead of the record’s November 17 release date.

It was after she was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame that Parton decided to make what became Rockstar, although it’s her fans she credits with giving her the courage and desire to make a rock and roll album in the first place.

“I want the fans to just enjoy that I could do it, and that I wanted to do it,” Parton says. “My fans, they go with me whatever I do. And they know I’m not leaving country, good Lord, after all these years. I’m too country to leave it. But I just wanted to do this, and I hope they enjoy it, the rock people, as well as the country people.”

See a track list for Rockstar below. Find all of Parton’s music, and pre-order Rockstar, at

Read ‘Dolly Parton: 11 Things to Know About the Country Music Queen’ here.

Rockstar Track Listing:

1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)
2. World on Fire
3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Photo Credit: Courtesy of Butterfly Records/Vijat Mohindra