Reba McEntire, Brooks & Dunn Drop Acoustic ‘If You See Him, If You See Her’

A new version of the classic duet between Reba McEntire and Brooks & Dunn is out now. The Country Music Hall of Fame members just dropped an acoustic version of “If You See Him, If You See Her.” The song was first released on June 2, 1998, as the title track of both McEntire’s If You See Him album, and Brooks & Dunn’s If You See Her project.

The acoustic version of “If You See Him, If You See Her,” will be part of McEntire’s forthcoming Not That Fancy 14-track record, which will accompany her new lifestyle book, Not That Fancy: Simple Lessons on Living, Loving, Eating, and Dusting Off Your Boots.

“It’s songs that I went into the studio with Dave Cobb and re-recorded,” McEntire said on the Today Show.“ And then we’ve got four new songs, songs that we did later, like ‘Georgia,’ the duet with Ronnie and Kix, Brooks & Dunn. It’s great music along with a fun book.”

Tommy Lee James, Terry McBride, and Jennifer Kimball wrote “If You See Him, If You See Her,” later revealing they wrote it specifically for the two superstar acts to record together.

“I hate to say it, but it was completely calculated, where I think it was something like Terry said, ‘Brooks and Dunn and Reba are looking for a duet,'” James recalls (via Songfacts). “And Jennifer goes, ‘Well, I just have this idea called ‘If You See Him.’ I don’t think that’s a duet.’ Or something like that. And then it was like, ‘Well, what about ‘If You See Him/If You See Her?” And so that’s kind of how that came about. And we pretty much completely wrote it for Brooks and Dunn and Reba, and they recorded it.

“That hardly ever happens where you’re just that calculated and it just works,” he continued. “But we just tailor-made it. When we were writing it, it was like, ‘Well, I don’t think Ronnie would say that.’ ‘I don’t think Reba would say that.’ We were actually using their names. And we were very pointed and focused, and it just happened to work out, and they both liked it. And it made it through all the channels.”

See a track list for Not That Fancy below. Both the book and album will be out on October 10. Pre-order is available here.

Read ‘Reba McEntire: 11 Things to Know About the Country Music Legend’ here.

Not That Fancy Track List:

1. The Fear of Being Alone
2. Consider Me Gone
3. Somebody Should Leave
4. How Blue
5. If You See Him, If You See Her with Brooks & Dunn
6. Till You Love Me
7. Seven Minutes In Heaven
8. The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia
9. Does He Love You with Dolly Parton
10. One Promise Too Late
11. The Last One To Know
12. New Fool At An Old Game
13. I’m A Survivor
14. Fancy