Steve Earle, Brett James Among 2020 Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees

We now know which five artists will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame! The new inductees will be Steve Earle, Brett James, Bobbie Gentry, Kent Blazy and Spooner Oldham. The songwriters will be inducted on Monday, November 1, 2021, at the Music City Center. Their induction will take place along with the 2021 class, which will be announced next year.

“This year marks our 50th year to welcome a new class into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. And although our year has looked different, we couldn’t be more excited to continue our commitment and core mission by announcing the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Class of 2020,” said Sarah Cates, who serves as the Chair of the Songwriters Hall of Fame Board of Directors. “It’s our great honor today to welcome our class of 2020: Kent Blazy and Brett James in the songwriter category; Spooner Oldham in the veteran songwriter category, Steve Earle as our songwriter/artist and Bobbie Gentry as our veteran songwriter/artist.”

Steve Earle penned several of his own hits, including “Guitar Town,” “Copperhead Road” and “The Devil’s Right Hand.” Brett James’ numerous credits include Carrie Underwood’s “Jesus Take the Wheel,” “When the Sun Goes Down” by Kenny Chesney and Uncle Kracker, and Rascal Flatts’ “Summer Nights,” among others.

Kent Blazy is know for some of Garth Brooks’ biggest hits, including “If Tomorrow Never Comes” and “Ain’t Goin’ Down (‘Til the Sun Comes Up),” as well as Chris Young’s “Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song).

Spooner Oldham has had success with several R&B and pop hits, such as “I’m Your Puppet,” by James and  Bobby Purify, “Cry Like A Baby” by The Box Tops and “Sweet Inspiration” by The Sweet Inspirations.

Bobbie Gentry also wrote many of her own songs, including “Od to Billie Joe,” “Fancy” and “Mornin’ Glory.”

The five inductees into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame were narrowed down from a previously-announced list of nominees that included Steven Curtis ChapmanKix Brooks, and Tia Sillers.