Billy Dean Announces ‘The Rest Of It’s Mine,’ His First Album in 10 Years

Billy Dean is back! The country music singer, who had a string of hits in the ’90s and early 2000s, including “Only Here for a Little While,” “We Just Disagree,” “Let Them Be Little” and more, announces his first album in a decade, with The Rest Of It’s Mine. The ten-track record also includes a bonus track of “Somewhere In My Broken Heart,” recorded with a full symphony orchestra.

“‘Somewhere in My Broken Heart’ has been such a gift to me and my family and I credit Hall of Fame songwriter Richard Leigh for teaching me so much about writing on the day that we put words to this beautiful melody that he had written on the piano,” Dean says. “It’s a melody I always thought should be surrounded by a luscious orchestra. What better time to celebrate than the 30-year anniversary of it becoming the Academy of Country Music’s Song of the Year?”

Dean wrote the title track with hit songwriter Paul Overstreet, who also appears on the record as well. The Florida native co-wrote all but one of the songs on The Rest Of It’s Mine, teaming up with writers like Brent Rader, Tom Woodard, Monty Powell, David Duncan, as well as Dean’s close friends Hugh and Cody Vanlandingham.

“I really wanted to connect with some of the greatest Hall of Fame songwriters in our business, to learn from them,” Dean explains. “I wanted to see what makes them tick and what made them Hall of Famers. Paul Overstreet was at the top of my list of guys that I knew but had never worked with.”

The Rest Of It’s Mine has a bit of a tropical feel to it, which makes sense since Dean and his wife, Stephanie, currently live in Florida.

“I was so touched and moved when Florida inducted me into its Artists Hall of Fame it made me terribly homesick,” explains Dean. “So I moved back to reconnect with my aging mother, my high school buddies and friends and family. That all inspired the tropical flavor of this album.”

The video for “The Rest Of It’s Mine” will premiere on CMT on June 13. The record will be released on July 22. See a track list for the project below. Pre-order the record here, and download or stream the title track here. Find music and tour dates at

The Rest Of It’s Mine Track List:

1. Saltwater Cowboy
2. The Rest of It’s Mine (featuring Paul Overstreet)
3. Margarita Memories
4. Hearts in the Sand
5. Oh What A Night
6. Where Nobody Knows My Name
7. Laziest Man Alive
8. My Day Off
9. Bourbon Vacation
10. Hemingway

*Bonus Track: Somewhere in My Broken Heart (30th Anniversary re-recorded version w/ symphony)