Dolly Parton Releases ‘What’s Up?’ Featuring Linda Perry, From ‘Rockstar’ [WATCH]

Dolly Parton has dropped another new song from her forthcoming Rockstar album, out on November 16. The Country Music Hall of Fame member released “What’s Up?” with Linda Perry, a song that was first released by 4 Non Blondes, which included Perry, in 1993.

“First of all, I love Linda Perry,” Parton says. “Second of all, I love this song written by Linda. Third of all, I love being a part of this video to try to make people think about what’s going on in this world today. Shout out to the little children that helped with the video! If our children don’t make it, then what will? Again, I ask ‘What’s Up?’ Enjoy.”

Perry praised Parton for inviting her to be part of Rpckstar, especially with a song as meaningful as “What’s Up?”

“How is one supposed to react when the greatest and most prolific songwriter in the world wants to cover a song YOU wrote?” Perry reflects. “Her version of ‘What’s Up?’ is so good. Her spin on it made me feel like it was her song. No surprise there. Being on set making the video was a comfortable easy experience. The vibe on set was chill and Dolly and I got to catch up and laugh a lot. I could go on and on, obviously I’m a fan!”

Perry is one of several guest artists on Rockstar, which also includes collaborations with Elton John, Paul McCartney, Steven Tyler, Stevie Nicks, John Fogerty, Chris Stapleton, Michael McDonald, Peter Frampton and more.

Parton announced last year she was working on a rock album, when she was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

“I thought, ‘Well, if I’m gonna be in (it), I’m gonna have to do a rock album,’ because my husband of 56 years is a huge rock fan,” Parton told Pollstar. “And all through the house, he has music louder than this going on at all times. He’s always said, ‘You should do a rock album.’ And I thought about it a few times, but timing is everything.”

The entire 30-track record was also a gift to Parton for her fans, many whom have been with her for generations.

“I want them to enjoy me doing something different, and hopefully doing it good,” Parton said on TalkShopLive. “I got a kick out of it. I didn’t know how I would be doing a whole rock album … I just chose songs that I’d always loved, artists that we liked.”

“I want the fans to just enjoy that I could do it, and that I wanted to do it,” she added. “My fans, they go with me whatever I do. And they know I’m not leaving country, good Lord, after all these years. I’m too country to leave it. But I just wanted to do this, and I hope they enjoy it, the rock people, as well as the country people.”

Parton previously released “Let It Be,” featuring McCartney, Ringo Starr, Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood; “World on Fire;” “Bygones,” featuring Rob Halford, with special guests Nikki Sixx and John 5; a cover of “Magic Man (Carl Version), featuring Heart’s Ann Wilson; and “We Are the Champions/We Will Rock You.”

See a track list for Rockstar below. Find all of Parton’s music, and pre-order Rockstar, at

Read ‘Dolly Parton: 11 Things to Know About the Country Music Queen’ here.

Rockstar Track Listing:

1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)
2. World on Fire
3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)