Josh Turner Reveals Songs on ‘King Size Manger,’ Announces Holiday Tour

We now know the songs on Josh Turner‘s upcoming Christmas album, King Size Manger, as well as the dates for his first-ever holiday tour! The South Carolina native will kick off his Holiday & The Hits Tour on November 18 in Holland, Michigan, wrapping up the tour with a show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on December 20.

“Making a Christmas record can be a mighty daunting task for an artist,” says Turner. “There are so many songs to choose from and there’ve been so many versions of those songs throughout history. It can be intimidating to know whether you’ll be able to measure up to what’s already been done and when I get to that point, I step back and remind myself that I have to do what I hear in my heart.”

Turner has classics like “Angels We Have Heard on High” and “Silent Night, Holy Night” on the album, along with four originals, three that he co-wrote.

“You may be surprised to hear my arrangement on some of these songs that you know so well,” Turner says. “We had a lot of fun throwing out all the preconceived notions of what a Christmas record should sound like. In my opinion, it’s about the words and the heart and soul of how a song sounds. You don’t need jingle bells on a song to make it a Christmas song.”

Turner’s wife, Jennifer, appears on King Size Manger, along with their four boys. Rhonda Vincent also appears on “Joy to the World.” King Size Manger will be out on October 8. See a track list below. Pre-order King Size Manger, and find tour dates, by visiting his website.

King Size Manger Track Listing:

1. Angels We Have Heard On High
2. What He’s Given Me (Featuring Pat McLaughlin)*
3. King Size Manger*
4. Joy To The World (Featuring Rhonda Vincent)
5. Soldier’s Gift*
6. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Featuring The Turner Family)
7. Go Tell It On The Mountain
8. Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana (Featuring Jake Shimabukuro and Ho’okena)*
9. The First Nowell
10. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town
11. Silent Night, Holy Night

Produced by Kenny Greenberg

*denotes original