Scotty McCreery Reflects on Life Changes in New Album, ‘Same Truck’

The wait is almost over for new music from Scotty McCreery! The American Idol alum just announced his fifth studio album, Same Truck, will be released on September 17. McCreery co-wrote the title track, one of 12 songs on the project, with McCreery having co-writing credits on ten of the tracks.

“My last album was about me as a young man getting ready to get married,” McCreery says of Seasons Change, released in 2018. “Same Truck is me three years later, taking a moment to acknowledge where I am now as a 27-year-old, happily married man, sharing both what I’ve learned and where I want to go.”

With so much of the world shut down in 2020 because of the pandemic, McCreery is grateful to be able to share this new music with his fans and followers, especially now.

“It’s gratifying to learn that my fans are so excited about my upcoming new album that they sought out pre-order information before it was ready to be announced….and got it,” McCreery says of the new project. “Thanks to Triple Tigers and the retailers for coming together quickly so we could make this official album announcement. I can’t wait to share this music with everyone.”

McCreery just shared a new track from Same Truck, “Why You Gotta Be Like That,” inspired by his wife, Gabi.

“My wife Gabi and I had a date night the evening before I wrote ‘Why You Gotta Be Like That’ with James and Jordan,” McCreery says of the song he wrote with Jordan Schmidt and James McNair. “She came downstairs looking gorgeous as usual, and well…the song tells the rest of the story. Writing with James and Jordan is always so much fun, and I think that genuine feeling comes through in the song as well.”

McCreery is currently out on his You Time Tour, where the reaction to the new songs has been very encouraging.

“You never know how new songs are going to go over in the live show, but our audiences sure seem to enjoy them from the reaction we’re receiving,” McCreery says.

See a track list for Same Truck below. Pre-order the album, and find tour dates, at

1. Same Truck (Scotty McCreery, Ashley Gorley, Taylor Phillips, Zach Crowell)
2. You Time (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Aaron Eshuis)
3. It Matters To Her (Scotty McCreery, Rhett Akins, Lee Thomas Miller)
4. Damn Strait (Trent Tomlinson, Jim Collins)
5. It’ll Grow On Ya (Jeremy Bussey, Jason Blaine, Taylor Phillips, Adam Wood)
6. The Waiter (Scotty McCreery, Matthew West, Frank Rogers)
7. Why You Gotta Be Like That (Scotty McCreery, Jordan Schmidt, James McNair)
8. Home (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Brent Anderson, Tammi Kidd)
9. Carolina To Me (Scotty McCreery, Jeremy Bussey, Taylor Phillips)
10. Small Town Girl (Scotty McCreery, Ashley Gorley, Zach Crowell)
11. That Kind of Fire (Scotty McCreery, Josh Hoge, Matt McVaney, Justin Wilson)
12. How Ya Doin’ Up There (Scotty McCreery, Monty Criswell, Derek George, Tyler Reeve)