Trace Adkins Joined by Luke Bryan, Stevie Wonder and More On New Album

Trace Adkins is celebrating the 25th anniversary of his debut album, Dreamin’ Out Loud, in a big way. The country music superstar just announced the release of The Way I Wanna Go, an ambitious 25-track record, featuring Luke Bryan, Stevie Wonder, Snoop Dogg, Pitbull, Melissa Etheridge and more.

“I don’t know where my place is gonna be when the history of what I did is written,” Adkins says of his lengthy. “But 90 percent of the time, I said what I wanted to say and stuck to my guns and did what I wanted to do … And, this album is as good as anything I’ve ever done.”

The Way I Wanna Go features tracks written by hit songwriters like Rhett Akins, Casey Beathard, Brothers Osborne, Craig Wiseman and more.

Adkins already dropped “Where the Country Girls At,” featuring Bryan and Pitbull. The song combines a lot of different genres and influences, just part of what Adkins hints fans can expect from him in the future.


“I’ve got to the point I think in my career where it’s all up to me now,” Adkins reflects. “I can do whatever I want to do, and that’s a beautiful place to be. I love where I’m at, I really do. I’ve had the perfect career, and I’m right where I want to be.”

Adkins co-wrote two of the tracks on The Way I Wanna Go, including “If I Was a Woman,” featuring Blake Shelton.

“I am at the top of my game right now as far as my craft goes,” Adkins shares. “I’m better at this than I’ve ever been in my life.”

Adkins previously hinted that he was working on a massive new record.

“We’ve been doing a lot of new stuff in the studio,” Adkins hinted to Fox News. “I’m gonna have a new album come out this year, with 25 brand-new songs on it, because that’s all we’ve been doing. We’ve been in the studio.”

The Way I Wanna Go will be released on August 27. See the track list below, and pre-order the record at

Trace Adkins’ The Way I Wanna Go Track List:

“Where I Am Today” (Mark Holman/ Rhett Akins/ Dallas Davidson/ Ben Hayslip)
“Heartbreak Song” (Greg Crowe/ Johnny Garcia/ Adam Wood)
“Where The Country Girls At (feat. Luke Bryan & Pitbull)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
“Cadillac’n” (Kendell Marvel/ Dan Auerbach/ Paul Overstreet)
“Finding My Groove” (Dan Smalley/ Casey Beathard/ Houston Phillips)
“Cowboy Boots and Jeans” (Jim Beavers/ Lindsay Rimes/ Jonathan Singleton)
“Live It Lonely” (Kelsey Hart/ Kyle Schlienger)
“Love Walks Through The Rain (feat. Melissa Etheridge)” (Mickey Jack Cones/ Marla Cannon-Goodman/ Kelly Archer)
“Honey Child” (Monty Criswell/ Robert Counts/ Jimmy Ritchey)
“It’s A Good Thing I Don’t Drink” (Kerry Kurt Phillips/ Jamie Teachenor – produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
“Jesus Was A Hippie” (Monty Criswell/ Randy Montana)
“Memory to Memphis (feat. Keb’ Mo’ & Stevie Wonder on harmonica)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Curt Chambers)
“You’re Mine” (Mickey Jack Cones/ Steven Dale Jones)
“The Way I Wanna Go” (Barry Dean/ Troy Verges/ TJ Osborne/ John Osborne – produced by Jon Coleman)
“It All Adds Up To Us” (Trace Adkins/ Kenny Beard/ Matt Nolan)
“If I Was A Woman (feat. Blake Shelton)” (Trace Adkins/ Sherrié Austin/ Jeff Bates/ Kenny Beard – produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
“Got It Down” (Craig Wiseman/ Brandon Kinney)
“Careful Girl” (Monty Criswell/ Tony Lane/ Brice Long
“Empty Chair” (Lance Miller/ David Frasier/ Lonnie Fowler)
“Cowboy Up” (John Pierce/ Tony Lane/ Jordan Walker)
“Somewhere In America” (Jon Nite/ Hunter Phelps/ Michael Hardy/ Zach Crowell)
“So Do The Neighbors (feat. Snoop Dogg)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Shane Minor/ Calvin Broadus)
“I Should Let You Go” (Monty Criswell/ Tim Mensy)
“Low Note” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
“Welcome To” (Craig Wiseman/ Jacob Rice/ James McCormick)