Jelly Roll Reveals Songs and Collaborations on ‘Whitsitt Chapel’

We now know what songs will be on Jelly Roll‘s new Whitsitt Chapel album. The “Need a Favor” singer just shared all 13 songs on the forthcoming project, revealing that he wrote all of the tracks, alongside writers like Ashley McBryde, HARDY, Brantley Gilbert and more.

Whitsitt Chapel includes three collaborations: with Gilbert and Struggle Jennings, on “Behind Bars,” Yelawolf on “Unlive,” and with Lainey Wilson on “Save Me,” which they performed together at the recent ACM Awards.


I’ve kept y’all in suspense long enough!! It’s time for the full track list reveal for my debut country album “Whitsitt Chapel”!

Hit the link to preorder/presave the album before it drops June 2nd >>>

Posted by Jelly Roll on Monday, May 22, 2023


The title of Whitsitt Chapel is also the church that Jelly Roll attended when he was a child. But it was his daughter, Bailee, and her decision to start attending church that became the inspiration for the Nashville native’s new record.

“Bailee approached me about six, seven, eight months ago about this little church she’s been going to with all her cool friends,” Jelly Roll tells Taste of Country. “And it’s of a back-a– country road, it’s in an elementary-through-high-school auditorium, maybe 80 people, and 20 of them are youth.”

Jelly Roll, who spent a lot of his teenage and young adult years incarcerated, watched his daughter get baptized, which served as the inspiration for Whitsitt Chapel.

“Her getting baptized, the crazy thing was just all the parallels,” Jelly Roll recalls. “That’s how much her at this church, let alone the baptism, impacted me — that I wrote a whole album themed around it.”

“Somewhere along the way I stopped doing what I was doing and wrote an entire album, that I can honestly say Bailee inspired, because I thought about where I was at when I was 14,” he adds. “I wanted to get baptized at this little back road church. I scrapped, like, 70 songs that I had wrote for the album, and I started writing the album that day, the day that I went to go see the church with her.”

Whitsitt Chapel will be out on June 2.  Jelly Roll will embark on his Backroad Baptism Tour in July, joined by a rotating list of opening acts, including McBryde, Chase Rice, Jennings, Caitlynne Curtis, Elle King, Merkules, Three 6 Mafia, Yelawolf and Josh Adam Meyers. Find all of Jelly Roll’s music and upcoming shows, and pre-order the record, at

Whitsitt Chapel Track Listing:

1. Halfway To Hell – Written by Jason DeFord, Jesse Frasure, Matt Jenkins, Jessie Jo Dillon*
2. Church – Written by Jason DeFord, Michael Hardy, David Garci**
3. The Lost – Written by Jason DeFord, Jesse Frasure, Miranda Lambert*
4. Behind Bars (with Brantley Gilbert and Struggle Jennings) – Written by Jason DeFord, Brantley Gilbert, Michael Whitworth, Andrew Baylis, Brock Berryhill, Austin Nivare***
5. Nail Me – Written by Jason DeFord, Kevin Gruft, Austin Nivare^
6. Hold On Me – Written by Jason DeFord, Hillary Lindsey, Alysa Vanderheym, Michael Whitwort^
7. Kill A Man – Written by Jason DeFord, Riley Thomas, Andrew Baylis, Michael Whitwort^
8. Unlive (with Yelawolf) – Written by Jason DeFord, Ashley McBryde, Andrew Baylis, Zach Crowell, Michael Wayne Atha^
9. Save Me (with Lainey Wilson) – Written by Jason DeFord, David Ray Steven^^
10. She – Written by Jason DeFord, Austin Nivarel, Kevin “Thrasher” Gruf^^^
11. Need A Favor – Written by Jason DeFord, Austin Nivarel, Joe Ragosta, Rob Ragost*^
12. Dancing With The Devil – Written by Jason DeFord, Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowel^
13. Hungover In A Church Pew – Written by Jason DeFord, Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowell^
^Produced by Zach Crowell
*Produced by Zach Crowell and Jesse Frasure
**Produced by Zach Crowell and David Garcia
^^Produced by Zach Crowell and David Ray Stevens
*^Produced by Austin Nivarel
***Produced by Brock Berryhill and Andrew Baylis
^^^Produced by Kevin “Thrasher” Gruft